Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 475058

Menig Nursing Home

Randolph Center, Vermont · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 30

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $76,500.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: July 25, 2024, Fine, $76,500. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 21, 2025.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1405676, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended September 30, 2023

Cost report for October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 18, 2024.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1375078, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended September 30, 2022

Cost report for October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 8, 2023.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1344020, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended September 30, 2021

Cost report for October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 26, 2022.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1314797, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended September 30, 2020

Cost report for October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 14, 2021.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1282196, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended September 30, 2019

Cost report for October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 31, 2020.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1253473, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended September 30, 2018

Cost report for October 1, 2017 to September 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 17, 2019.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1222599, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended September 30, 2017

Cost report for October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 2, 2018.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1187765, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended September 30, 2016

Cost report for October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 18, 2017.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1155815, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended September 30, 2015

Cost report for May 26, 2015 to September 30, 2015 — a reporting period of 127 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 23, 2016.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1121117, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
GIFFORD HEALTH CARE INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/12/2013
IMPEY, HEATHERADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/09/2026
MALONEY, CRISTINEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/09/2026
COSTA, MICHAELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/03/2024
HOLLAND, CHEYENNECORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/19/2024
GIFFORD HEALTH CARE INCDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/12/2013
CHANDLER, KRISTINMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
FLORANCE, EMILIJAMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
JACKSON, SARAHMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
KINNARNEY, JAMIEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
MASON, KATHLEENMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
NELB, JEFFREYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
PUTNEY, PAULMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
REED, PETERMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
RIBAUDO, VICTORMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
RILLING, MORGANMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
ROSALBO, CINDYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
HOLLAND, CHEYENNEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/19/2024
IMPEY, HEATHEROPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/28/2025
MALONEY, CRISTINEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
COSTA, MICHAELTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
FLORANCE, EMILIJATRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
GIFFORD HEALTH CARE INCTRUSTEE OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/12/2013
HOLLAND, CHEYENNETRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/19/2024
JACKSON, SARAHTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
KINNARNEY, JAMIETRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
MASON, KATHLEENTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
NELB, JEFFREYTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
PUTNEY, PAULTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
REED, PETERTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
RIBAUDO, VICTORTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
RILLING, MORGANTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025
ROSALBO, CINDYTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/02/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of GIFFORD RETIREMENT COMMUNITY, INC (enrollment ID O20150415000382).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
GIFFORD HEALTH CARE INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1008/12/2013
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CRISTINE J MALONEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/9/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GIFFORD HEALTH CARE INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/12/2013
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
HEATHER E IMPEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/9/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL K COSTAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing10/3/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHEYENNE HOLLANDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing8/19/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GIFFORD HEALTH CARE INCOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1008/12/2013
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CINDY ROSALBOIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EMILIJA O FLORANCEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMIE KINNARNEYIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JEFFREY J NELBIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KATHLEEN MASONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KRISTIN CHANDLERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MORGAN RILLINGIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAUL PUTNEYIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PETER REEDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SARAH JACKSONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
VICTOR RIBAUDOIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHEYENNE HOLLANDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/19/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRISTINE J MALONEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEATHER E IMPEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/28/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHEYENNE HOLLANDIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/19/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CINDY ROSALBOIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EMILIJA O FLORANCEIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GIFFORD HEALTH CARE INCOrganizationTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/12/2013
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JAMIE KINNARNEYIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JEFFREY J NELBIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KATHLEEN MASONIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL K COSTAIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MORGAN RILLINGIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAUL PUTNEYIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PETER REEDIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SARAH JACKSONIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
VICTOR RIBAUDOIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1September 17, 2025May 10, 202371
2July 25, 2024April 6, 2022150
3May 10, 2023July 10, 201930

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

25 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
September 17, 2025HealthF 0585Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 7, 2025
September 17, 2025HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 17, 2025HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2025
September 17, 2025HealthF 0699Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 25, 2025
September 17, 2025HealthF 0801Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEmploy sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 14, 2025
September 17, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 5, 2026
September 17, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2025
July 25, 2024HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0563Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to receive visitors of his or her choosing, at the time of his or her choosing.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0637Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident when there is a significant change in conditionDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0838Administration DeficienciesConduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0841Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesDesignate a physician to serve as medical director responsible for implementation of resident care policies and coordination of medical care in the facility.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0940Administration DeficienciesDevelop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff members.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0941Administration DeficienciesDevelop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program that includes effective communications for direct care staff members.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0944Administration DeficienciesConduct mandatory training, for all staff, on the facility’s Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement Program.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0946Administration DeficienciesProvide training in compliance and ethics.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0947Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0949Administration DeficienciesProvide behavior health training consistent with the requirements and as determined by a facility assessment.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0607Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.CYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 26, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 17, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 17, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
July 25, 2024Fine$76,5005805

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameGIFFORD RETIREMENT COMMUNITY, INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2001-05-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishOrange
Telephone Number8027287800
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds30
Average Number of Residents per Day29.9
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating2
QM Rating5
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Menig Nursing Home: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On July 1, 2026: MATTHEW CONSIDINE no longer appears as OTHER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Menig Nursing Home

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Vermont at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Vermont

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 475058.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.