Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 495214

AUGUSTA MEDICAL CTR SKILLED CA

FISHERSVILLE, Virginia · Medicare

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 17

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
AUGUSTA HEALTH CARE INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/16/1990
CRABTREE, SCOTTADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/16/2023
FARMER, CRYSTALADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2023
FORVIS MAZARS LLPADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2022
MANNIX, MARYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/18/2008
MEADOR, WILLIAMADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/16/2023
STALZER, JOANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2009
CRABTREE, SCOTTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/16/2023
FARMER, CRYSTALCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2023
MANNIX, MARYCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/18/2008
MEADOR, WILLIAMCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/22/2023
AUGUSTA HEALTH CARE INCDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/16/1990
BOKELMAN, SETHMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
BOWERS, JOHNMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2018
CALLISON, DEBRAMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2015
CROWDER, ROBINMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
HECK, CHRISTOPHERMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2018
LANDES, LAURELMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2018
LAYMAN, DANMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
OTTENI, JACKMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
PETERSON, JOHNMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
RANKIN, KERIMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2021
SANTOS, VICTORMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2021
WHITESELL, LEEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
FARMER, CRYSTALOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2023
MANNIX, MARYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/18/2008
MEADOR, WILLIAMOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/16/2023
STALZER, JOANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2009

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of AUGUSTA HEALTH CARE INC (enrollment ID O20070518000297).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
AUGUSTA HEALTH CARE INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/16/1990
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CRYSTAL FARMERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FORVIS MAZARS LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/1/2022
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JOAN B STALZERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/1/2009
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY MANNIXIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/18/2008
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SCOTT CRABTREEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/16/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM J MEADORIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/16/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SCOTT CRABTREEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing6/16/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRYSTAL FARMERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing8/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY MANNIXIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing3/18/2008
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM J MEADORIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing5/22/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AUGUSTA HEALTH CARE INCOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1007/16/1990
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CHRISTOPHER C HECKIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAN LAYMANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DEBRA CALLISONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JACK F OTTENIIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN BOWERSIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN PETERSONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KERI RANKINIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LAUREL LANDESIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LEE ANN WHITESELLIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBIN CROWDERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SETH BOKELMANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
VICTOR SANTOSIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRYSTAL FARMERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOAN B STALZERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/1/2009
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY MANNIXIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/18/2008
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM J MEADORIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing6/16/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1May 15, 2024May 15, 202420
2July 14, 2021July 14, 202120
3August 21, 2019August 21, 201900

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

4 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
May 15, 2024HealthF 0583Resident Rights DeficienciesKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 15, 2024
May 15, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 16, 2024
July 14, 2021HealthF 0625Resident Rights DeficienciesNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 27, 2021
July 14, 2021HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedFNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 27, 2021

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameAUGUSTA HEALTH CARE INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1990-07-16
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishAugusta
Telephone Number5403324020
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilNone
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds17
Average Number of Residents per Day12.7
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating4
Short-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on AUGUSTA MEDICAL CTR SKILLED CA: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On July 1, 2026: HOMER HITE no longer appears as MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for AUGUSTA MEDICAL CTR SKILLED CA

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Virginia at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Virginia

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 495214.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.