Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 515051

ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL

BUCKHANNON, West Virginia · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 16

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 09/01/2022
BROWN, BARTLEYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/18/2025
LEICHLITER, NIAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/18/2025
ABEL, BURTONCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
BOHMAN, JOHNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/08/2025
BROWN, BARTLEYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2016
BUCHANAN, KEITHCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/08/2025
HANIFAN, DONOVANCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/26/2017
HESS, DAVIDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
NESTOR, DONALDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
PRYZBYLEK, DANUTACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/08/2025
TENNEY, BRANDONCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/08/2025
TIERNEY, KELLEYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/08/2025
WARE, DANIELLECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
FORESTER, JOHNCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
HANNAH, FORESTCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
LEICHLITER, NIACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/08/2025
FORESTER, JOHNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
HANNAH, FORESTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
LEICHLITER, NIAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/18/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of ST JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL OF BUCKHANNON INC (enrollment ID O20100129000261).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNot stated in the filing9/1/2022
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BARTLEY BROWNIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/18/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NIA LEICHLITERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/18/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BARTLEY BROWNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRANDON TENNEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/8/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BURTON L ABELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DANIELLE C WAREIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DANUTA PRYZBYLEKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/8/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID F HESSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DONALD B NESTORIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DONOVAN HANIFANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/26/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN K BOHMANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/8/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEITH BUCHANANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/8/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KELLEY TIERNEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/8/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FOREST HANNAHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN C FORESTERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NIA LEICHLITERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing12/8/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FOREST HANNAHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN C FORESTERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NIA LEICHLITERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/18/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 8, 2026July 8, 202640
2March 20, 2025March 20, 202577
3April 23, 2024April 23, 202453
3August 17, 2022August 17, 202230

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

19 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
July 8, 2026HealthF 0605Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesPrevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 24, 2026
July 8, 2026HealthF 0732Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesPost nurse staffing information every day.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 24, 2026
July 8, 2026HealthF 0759Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 24, 2026
July 8, 2026HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 24, 2026
March 20, 2025HealthF 0585Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
March 20, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
March 20, 2025HealthF 0679Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide activities to meet all resident's needs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
March 20, 2025HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
March 20, 2025HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
March 20, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
March 20, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
April 23, 2024HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2024
April 23, 2024HealthF 0645Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesPASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual DisabilitiesDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2024
April 23, 2024HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2024
April 23, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2024
April 23, 2024HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2024
August 17, 2022HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 1, 2022
August 17, 2022HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 1, 2022
August 17, 2022HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 1, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameST JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL OF BUCKHANNON INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1974-10-08
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishUpshur
Telephone Number3044732000
Chain NameWVU MEDICINE
Chain ID571
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds16
Average Number of Residents per Day15.9
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0732, scope and severity B. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in West Virginia at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in West Virginia

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 515051.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.