Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 515077

WEIRTON MEDICAL CENTER

WEIRTON, West Virginia · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 33

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 01/01/2025
ARTMAN, DAVIDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GORLOCK, JOIADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SCHAUBLE, DREWADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2025
ARTMAN, DAVIDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
BERNABEI, JOHNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
FOURNIER, KELLICORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GIANNI, DONCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GRACE, MICHAELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GRECO, JOHNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MYERS, LUKECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
PAOLO, JOECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SHOCKLEY, JAMESCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/17/2009
WEIGEL, SONDRACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/28/2010
WINWOOD, SCOTTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WRIGHT, ALBERTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
ARTMAN, DAVIDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2012
FRANKOVITCH, CARLCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
FRANKOVITCH, JOHNCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/15/2015
GORLOCK, JOICORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SHAH, ATULCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SHOCKLEY, JAMESCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/17/2009
WEIGEL, SONDRACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/28/2010
WRIGHT, ALBERTINDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/21/2025
ARTMAN, DAVIDOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
BERNABEI, JOHNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
FOURNIER, KELLIOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
FRANKOVITCH, JOHNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GIANNI, DONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GORLOCK, JOIOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GRACE, MICHAELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
GRECO, JOHNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MYERS, LUKEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
PAOLO, JOEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SCHAUBLE, DREWOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SHOCKLEY, JAMESOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WEIGEL, SONDRAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WINWOOD, SCOTTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WRIGHT, ALBERTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of WEIRTON MEDICAL CENTER INC (enrollment ID O20101215000815).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1001/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
DAVID ARTMANIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DREW SCHAUBLEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOI GORLOCKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ALBERT WRIGHTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID ARTMANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DON GIANNIIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES SHOCKLEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing9/17/2009
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOE PAOLOIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN BERNABEIIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN GRECOIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KELLI L FOURNIERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LUKE MYERSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL GRACEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SCOTT WINWOODIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SONDRA WEIGELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/28/2010
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ATUL SHAHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CARL FRANKOVITCHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID ARTMANIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing9/1/2012
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES SHOCKLEYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing9/17/2009
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN FRANKOVITCHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing12/15/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOI GORLOCKIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SONDRA WEIGELIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing7/28/2010
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALBERT WRIGHTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID ARTMANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DON GIANNIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DREW SCHAUBLEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES SHOCKLEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOE PAOLOIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN BERNABEIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN FRANKOVITCHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN GRECOIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOI GORLOCKIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KELLI L FOURNIERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LUKE MYERSIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL GRACEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SCOTT WINWOODIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SONDRA WEIGELIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WEST VIRGINIA UNITED HEALTH SYSTEM, INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1February 5, 2026February 5, 202640
2June 26, 2024June 26, 2024123
3August 31, 2022August 31, 202283

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

24 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
February 5, 2026HealthF 0679Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide activities to meet all resident's needs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 6, 2026
February 5, 2026HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 6, 2026
February 5, 2026HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 6, 2026
February 5, 2026HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 6, 2026
June 26, 2024HealthF 0561Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0577Resident Rights DeficienciesAllow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0607Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0697Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
June 26, 2024HealthF 0868Administration DeficienciesHave the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterlyDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2024
August 31, 2022HealthF 0623Resident Rights DeficienciesProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022
August 31, 2022HealthF 0636Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022
August 31, 2022HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022
August 31, 2022HealthF 0757Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022
August 31, 2022HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022
August 31, 2022HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022
August 31, 2022HealthF 0883Infection Control DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022
August 31, 2022HealthF 0887Infection Control DeficienciesEducate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 22, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameWEIRTON MEDICAL CENTER INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1987-05-19
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishHancock
Telephone Number3047976000
Chain NameWVU MEDICINE
Chain ID571
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds33
Average Number of Residents per Day28.3
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating3
Short-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on WEIRTON MEDICAL CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On October 1, 2025: JESSICA BICKERS no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for WEIRTON MEDICAL CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in West Virginia at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in West Virginia

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 515077.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.