Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 555187

CATALINA ISLAND HEALTH

AVALON, California · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 8

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
AVALON MEDICAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATIONADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/07/2025
KIELPINSKI, TIMOTHYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/19/2026
AWALT, CATRINACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2015
FOX, JOHNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2018
GREAR, JUDYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2016
HOHENSTEIN, NICOLECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2022
MACLEOD, RENEECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2022
MOTTER, DENISECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2022
SALDANA, GERTRUDECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2016
KIELPINSKI, TIMOTHYCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2025
AVALON MEDICAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATIONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/16/2025
KIELPINSKI, TIMOTHYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of AVALON MEDICAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION (enrollment ID O20040413001001).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
AVALON MEDICAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATIONOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/7/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
TIMOTHY KIELPINSKIIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/19/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CATRINA AWALTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1006/30/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DENISE MOTTERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1006/30/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GERTRUDE SALDANAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1006/30/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN CHRISTIAN FOXIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing6/30/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JUDY K GREARIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1006/30/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE HOHENSTEINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1006/30/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RENEE C MACLEODIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1006/30/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TIMOTHY KIELPINSKIIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER10010/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AVALON MEDICAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATIONOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/16/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
TIMOTHY KIELPINSKIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1June 11, 2026June 11, 202671
2May 8, 2025May 8, 202580
3May 10, 2024May 10, 202434

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

18 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
June 11, 2026HealthF 0628Resident Rights DeficienciesProvide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 11, 2026
June 11, 2026HealthF 0730Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 11, 2026
June 11, 2026HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 11, 2026
June 11, 2026HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 11, 2026
June 11, 2026HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 11, 2026
June 11, 2026HealthF 0867Administration DeficienciesSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 11, 2026
June 11, 2026HealthF 0947Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 11, 2026
May 8, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 8, 2025HealthF 0726Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 8, 2025HealthF 0730Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 8, 2025HealthF 0757Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 8, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 8, 2025HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 8, 2025HealthF 0867Administration DeficienciesSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 8, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 7, 2025
May 10, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 29, 2024
May 10, 2024HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 29, 2024
May 10, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 29, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameAVALON MEDICAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1985-03-06
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishLos Angeles
Telephone Number3105100700
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilNone
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds8
Average Number of Residents per Day4.0
Overall Rating3
Health Inspection Rating4
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on CATALINA ISLAND HEALTH: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On May 1, 2026: JASON DEAN PARET no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for CATALINA ISLAND HEALTH

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in California at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in California

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 555187.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.