Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 555441
MEMORIAL HOSPITAL OF GARDENA D/P SNF
GARDENA, California · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 69
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 2 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $12,831.00 · Payment denials: 1. The most recent penalty on file: February 9, 2024, Fine, $12,831. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVANTI HEALTHCARE HOLDINGS LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 05/17/2011 |
| AVANTI HOSPITAL HOLDINGS I LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 05/17/2011 |
| AVANTI HOSPITALS LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 05/17/2011 |
| BELL, MARK | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Individual | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/31/2008 |
| DEERFIELD PRIVATE DESIGN FUND IV, LP | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| DFP OPCO, LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| EDWARDS, IRV | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Individual | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/31/2008 |
| HEALTHPLUS HOLDINGS LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/13/2006 |
| HOLLISTER HEALTH HOLDINGS LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| JPM PROPERTY HOLDINGS, LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| MACPHERSON, JAMES | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Individual | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/31/2008 |
| NLO PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| PIPELINE HEALTH SYSTEM HOLDINGS, LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| PIPELINE HEALTH SYSTEM, LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| PIPELINE HOSPITAL HOLDINGS LLC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 01/28/2019 |
| METCALFE, ROBERT | CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/26/2020 |
| BELL, MARK | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/28/2019 |
| GARDENA HOSPITAL MANAGEMENT, LLC | GENERAL PARTNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/29/1999 |
| HEALTHPLUS HOLDINGS LLC | LIMITED PARTNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/13/2006 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of GARDENA HOSPITAL, L.P. (enrollment ID O20210607001274).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVANTI HEALTHCARE HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 5/17/2011 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| AVANTI HOSPITAL HOLDINGS I LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 5/17/2011 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| AVANTI HOSPITALS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 5/17/2011 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DEERFIELD PRIVATE DESIGN FUND IV, LP | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 36.2 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DFP OPCO, LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 34.4 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| HEALTHPLUS HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 99.5 | 12/13/2006 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| HOLLISTER HEALTH HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 11.69 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| IRV EDWARDS | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 6.01 | 12/31/2008 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JAMES P MACPHERSON | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 5.38 | 12/31/2008 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JPM PROPERTY HOLDINGS, LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 5.38 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| MARK ROBERT BELL | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 6.01 | 12/31/2008 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| NLO PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 5.15 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| PIPELINE HEALTH SYSTEM HOLDINGS, LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| PIPELINE HEALTH SYSTEM, LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| PIPELINE HOSPITAL HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 29.4 | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| ROBERT K METCALFE | Individual | CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 2/26/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARK ROBERT BELL | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 1/28/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| GARDENA HOSPITAL MANAGEMENT, LLC | Organization | GENERAL PARTNERSHIP INTEREST | Not stated in the filing | 1/29/1999 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| HEALTHPLUS HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | LIMITED PARTNERSHIP INTEREST | 0.5 | 12/13/2006 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
Changes in ownership
No change in ownership appears in the CMS files on record since September 20, 2022.
Recent changes on this record
No change has appeared in the CMS files since this record began.
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | April 10, 2026 | April 10, 2026 | 9 | 4 |
| 2 | February 16, 2025 | February 16, 2025 | 7 | 4 |
| 3 | February 9, 2024 | February 9, 2024 | 16 | 8 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
32 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0641 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0644 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0694 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0757 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0838 | Administration Deficiencies | Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 28, 2026 |
| February 16, 2025 | Health | F 0641 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 6, 2025 |
| February 16, 2025 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 6, 2025 |
| February 16, 2025 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 6, 2025 |
| February 16, 2025 | Health | F 0725 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 6, 2025 |
| February 16, 2025 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 6, 2025 |
| February 16, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 6, 2025 |
| February 16, 2025 | Health | F 0919 | Environmental Deficiencies | Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 6, 2025 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0580 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0636 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0641 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0679 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide activities to meet all resident's needs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | G | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0698 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0726 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0755 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0760 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0790 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide routine and 24-hour emergency dental care for each resident. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0842 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
| February 9, 2024 | Health | F 0867 | Administration Deficiencies | Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 9, 2024 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 9, 2024 | Fine | $12,831 | 130500 | ||
| February 9, 2024 | Payment Denial | March 12, 2024 | 1 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | GARDENA HOSPITAL, L.P. |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1990-12-03 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | Y |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Los Angeles |
| Telephone Number | 3105324200 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 69 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 64.9 |
| Overall Rating | 4 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on MEMORIAL HOSPITAL OF GARDENA D/P SNF: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
No changes recorded yet. The first daily report after you subscribe names anything that moves.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for MEMORIAL HOSPITAL OF GARDENA D/P SNF
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in California at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in California
- PRR LOGISTICS LLC, SALINAS Motor carrier
- SHARE GLOBAL LINK LLC, PORTER RANCH Motor carrier
- J.G.C. INC., NORTH HILLS Motor carrier
- LJ GREENS PACKAGING LLC, SAN JOSE Motor carrier
- TAHOE KEYS LAGOONS AQUATIC WEED CONTROL METHODS TEST, SOUTH LAKE TAHOE Water discharge permit
- CALEXICO WPCP, CALEXICO Water discharge permit
- SAN BERNARDINO GEOTHERMAL HEATING PROJECT, SAN BERNARDINO Water discharge permit
- ELSINORE VALLEY RWRF, LAKE ELSINORE Water discharge permit
- US MINE CO. - IONE PLANT, IONE Air emission source
- AMPINE: A DIVISION OF TIMBER PRODUCTS COMPANY, MARTELL Air emission source
- NORTHROP GRUMMAN CORP, PALMDALE Air emission source
- LANDCASTER LANDFILL, LANCASTER Air emission source
- TRACY MAINTENANCE FACILITY, Byron Hazardous waste handler
- USDLA DEFENSE FUEL SUPPLY CENTER OZOL, Martinez Hazardous waste handler
- GENERAL PLATING COMPANY, Los Angeles Hazardous waste handler
- MARRS PRINTING INC., Walnut Hazardous waste handler
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 555441.