Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 555638
LOS ANGELES COMM HOSPITAL
LOS ANGELES, California · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 39
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $12,670.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: February 6, 2026, Fine, $12,670. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALTA HOSPITALS SYSTEM LLC | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 06/05/2007 |
| CHAMBER INC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 06/01/2021 |
| DAVID & ALEXA TOPPER FAMILY TRUST | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/15/2010 |
| IVY HOLDINGS INC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/15/2010 |
| IVY INTERMEDIATE HOLDING INC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 12/15/2010 |
| LEE, SANG BUM | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Individual | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 08/08/2007 |
| MPT OF BELLFLOWER PMH, L.P. | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 08/23/2019 |
| MPT OF LOS ANGELES PMH, L.P. | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 08/23/2019 |
| MPT OF NORWALK PMH, L.P. | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 08/23/2019 |
| PROSPECT MEDICAL HOLDINGS INC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 08/08/2007 |
| JP MORGAN CHASE, N.A. | 5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/30/2016 |
| LEE, SANG BUM | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/08/2007 |
| TOPPER, DAVID | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 11/14/2007 |
| ELDERS, ROBERT | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/15/2020 |
| GORENSTEIN, WILLIAM | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/15/2016 |
| JOHNSON, MARK | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/27/2020 |
| LEE, SANG BUM | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/08/2007 |
| SABILLO, ALFREDO | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/21/2020 |
| SAMUELS, ERIC | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/03/2019 |
| TOPPER, DAVID | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/08/2007 |
| HERNANDEZ, HECTOR | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/23/2016 |
| JAMES, CARMELO | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/15/2016 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of ALTA LOS ANGELES HOSPITALS, INC. (enrollment ID O20071213000618).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALTA HOSPITALS SYSTEM LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 6/5/2007 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: Yes |
| CHAMBER INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 6/1/2021 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DAVID & ALEXA TOPPER FAMILY TRUST | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 33.33 | 12/15/2010 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| IVY HOLDINGS INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 12/15/2010 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: Yes |
| IVY INTERMEDIATE HOLDING INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 12/15/2010 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: Yes |
| MPT OF BELLFLOWER PMH, L.P. | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 8/23/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| MPT OF LOS ANGELES PMH, L.P. | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Not stated in the filing | 8/23/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| MPT OF NORWALK PMH, L.P. | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 8/23/2019 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| PROSPECT MEDICAL HOLDINGS INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 8/8/2007 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: Yes |
| SANG BUM LEE | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 66.67 | 8/8/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JP MORGAN CHASE, N.A. | Organization | 5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST | 100 | 6/30/2016 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DAVID R TOPPER | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 11/14/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| SANG BUM LEE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 8/8/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ALFREDO SABILLO | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 7/21/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DAVID R TOPPER | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 8/8/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ERIC SAMUELS | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 6/3/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARK JOHNSON | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 7/27/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ROBERT ELDERS | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 6/15/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| SANG BUM LEE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 8/8/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| WILLIAM M GORENSTEIN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 8/15/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DAVID R TOPPER | Individual | OTHER | Not stated in the filing | 12/15/2010 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CARMELO A JAMES | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 9/15/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| HECTOR G HERNANDEZ | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | 0 | 5/23/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- July 17, 2023: IVY INTERMEDIATE HOLDING INC no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
- July 17, 2023: MPT OF BELLFLOWER PMH, L.P. (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 17, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 23, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
- July 17, 2023: MPT OF NORWALK PMH, L.P. (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 17, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 23, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
- July 17, 2023: IVY INTERMEDIATE HOLDING INC (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 17, 2023; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2010. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
Recent changes on this record
- July 17, 2023: IVY INTERMEDIATE HOLDING INC no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
- July 17, 2023: MPT OF BELLFLOWER PMH, L.P. (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 17, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 23, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
- July 17, 2023: MPT OF NORWALK PMH, L.P. (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 17, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 23, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
- July 17, 2023: IVY INTERMEDIATE HOLDING INC (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 17, 2023; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2010. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-07-17.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | February 6, 2026 | February 6, 2026 | 9 | 6 |
| 2 | November 24, 2024 | November 24, 2024 | 12 | 3 |
| 3 | November 29, 2023 | November 29, 2023 | 5 | 0 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
26 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0604 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0605 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0690 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0695 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0755 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| February 6, 2026 | Health | F 0912 | Environmental Deficiencies | Provide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms. | B | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 27, 2026 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0577 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0641 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0644 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0695 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0756 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0759 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 12, 2024 |
| November 24, 2024 | Health | F 0912 | Environmental Deficiencies | Provide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms. | B | No | Waiver has been granted | December 12, 2024 |
| November 29, 2023 | Health | F 0623 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 8, 2023 |
| November 29, 2023 | Health | F 0760 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 8, 2023 |
| November 29, 2023 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 8, 2023 |
| November 29, 2023 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 8, 2023 |
| November 29, 2023 | Health | F 0912 | Environmental Deficiencies | Provide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms. | B | No | Waiver has been granted | December 8, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 6, 2026 | Fine | $12,670 | 137368 | ||
| August 21, 2023 | Fine | $1,764 | 128547 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | For profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | ALTA LOS ANGELES HOSPITALS, INC. |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1995-06-09 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | Y |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Los Angeles |
| Telephone Number | 3232670477 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Both |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 39 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 38.4 |
| Overall Rating | 4 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on LOS ANGELES COMM HOSPITAL: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On July 17, 2023: IVY INTERMEDIATE HOLDING INC no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for LOS ANGELES COMM HOSPITAL
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in California at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in California
- CARLOS M DEL VALLE, IMPERIAL BEACH Motor carrier
- FLASHCO INC, BAKERSFIELD Motor carrier
- AURELIANO AMAYA RODRIGUEZ, LONG BEACH Motor carrier
- AARON STOGDEN GARCIA, BAKERSFIELD Motor carrier
- TAHOE KEYS LAGOONS AQUATIC WEED CONTROL METHODS TEST, SOUTH LAKE TAHOE Water discharge permit
- CALEXICO WPCP, CALEXICO Water discharge permit
- SAN BERNARDINO GEOTHERMAL HEATING PROJECT, SAN BERNARDINO Water discharge permit
- ELSINORE VALLEY RWRF, LAKE ELSINORE Water discharge permit
- US MINE CO. - IONE PLANT, IONE Air emission source
- AMPINE: A DIVISION OF TIMBER PRODUCTS COMPANY, MARTELL Air emission source
- NORTHROP GRUMMAN CORP, PALMDALE Air emission source
- LANDCASTER LANDFILL, LANCASTER Air emission source
- PENSKE CADILLAC SOUTH BAY, Torrance Hazardous waste handler
- ORCON CORPORATION, Union City Hazardous waste handler
- BEVERLY HILLS HIGH SCHOOL, Beverly Hills Hazardous waste handler
- CASTAIC POWER PLANT, Castaic Hazardous waste handler
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 555638.