Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 555869

LAUREL HEIGHTS COMMUNITY CARE

SAN FRANCISCO, California · Medicare

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 32

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $8,018.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: April 19, 2024, Fine, $8,018. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 29, 2025.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1438352, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 23, 2024.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1393046, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 20, 2023.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1365124, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 23, 2022.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1330492, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 3, 2021.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1306324, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 20, 2020.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1274185, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended December 31, 2018

Cost report for January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 19, 2019.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1243172, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended December 31, 2017

Cost report for January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 29, 2018.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1211022, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended December 31, 2016

Cost report for January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 21, 2017.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1170380, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended December 31, 2015

Cost report for January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 25, 2016.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1142538, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended October 31, 2014

Cost report for January 1, 2014 to October 31, 2014 — a reporting period of 303 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 26, 2018.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1217048, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended December 31, 2013

Cost report for January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 9, 2024.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1394306, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended December 31, 2012

Cost report for January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 11, 2024.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1394572, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
JC CARE INC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 11/01/2014
CHALICH, JOHN5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual50%since 11/01/2014
CHALICH, TANYA5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual50%since 11/01/2014
CHALICH, JOHNADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
CHALICH, TANYAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
DIMACALI, EUFEMIAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/11/2023
LANGNER, MIKAELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026
CHALICH, JOHNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
CHALICH, JOHNCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
CHALICH, TANYACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
CHALICH, JOHNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
DIMACALI, EUFEMIAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/11/2023
LANGNER, MIKAELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2026

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of JC CARE INC (enrollment ID O20150211000954).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
JC CARE INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST10011/1/2014
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JOHN CHALICHIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST5011/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TANYA CHALICHIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST5011/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EUFEMIA ENCINARES DIMACALIIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/11/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN CHALICHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing11/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MIKAEL D LANGNERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TANYA CHALICHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing11/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN CHALICHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR011/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN CHALICHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER011/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TANYA CHALICHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER5011/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EUFEMIA ENCINARES DIMACALIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/11/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN CHALICHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MIKAEL D LANGNERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 31, 2025July 31, 202542
2April 19, 2024April 19, 2024165
3December 9, 2021December 9, 202145

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

24 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
July 31, 2025HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2025
July 31, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2025
July 31, 2025HealthF 0849Administration DeficienciesArrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2025
July 31, 2025HealthF 0912Environmental DeficienciesProvide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.BNoPast Non-ComplianceJune 19, 2024
May 8, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.GYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 15, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0558Resident Rights DeficienciesReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 22, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0637Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident when there is a significant change in conditionDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 16, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 7, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 7, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0698Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 30, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 26, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 30, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0801Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEmploy sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 17, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0802Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProvide sufficient support personnel to safely and effectively carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 17, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0803Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 13, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0804Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 13, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0805Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 13, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 17, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 7, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0908Environmental DeficienciesKeep all essential equipment working safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 19, 2024
April 19, 2024HealthF 0912Environmental DeficienciesProvide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.ENoWaiver has been grantedMay 19, 2024
December 9, 2021HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 13, 2022
December 9, 2021HealthF 0803Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 13, 2022
December 9, 2021HealthF 0912Environmental DeficienciesProvide rooms that are at least 80 square feet per resident in multiple rooms and 100 square feet for single resident rooms.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 13, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
April 19, 2024Fine$8,018130853

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare
Ownership TypeFor profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameJC CARE INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2011-05-11
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishSan Francisco
Telephone Number4155673133
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds32
Average Number of Residents per Day30.0
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating5
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on LAUREL HEIGHTS COMMUNITY CARE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 29, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for LAUREL HEIGHTS COMMUNITY CARE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in California at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in California

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 555869.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.