Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 555908

SOUTH PASADENA CARE CENTER

SOUTH PASADENA, California · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 156

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 17, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$38,487,346CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$12,591,045CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$25,896,301CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$22,382,000CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$3,514,301CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$733,161CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$4,247,462CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $4,247,462 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components57,096CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days17,120CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days1,511CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days32,194CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components50,825CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges147CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges290CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges44CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components481CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days116.46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days5.21CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days105.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1441061, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 19, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$31,301,379CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$11,889,439CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$19,411,940CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$18,490,087CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$921,853CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,120,123CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$2,041,976CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $2,041,976 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components48,143CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components317CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days97.53CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days174.22CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days151.87CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1392539, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 19, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$24,532,755CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$10,306,254CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$14,226,501CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,347,830CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,121,329CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$489,597CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$631,732CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$631,732 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components42,417CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components351CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days42.59CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days176.39CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days120.85CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1389921, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 1, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$30,843,932CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$12,215,917CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$18,628,015CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,745,288CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$2,882,727CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$2,409,977CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$5,292,704CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $5,173,004 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components45,528CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components381CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days44.48CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days207.03CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days119.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1369274, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 9, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$26,929,448CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$10,575,820CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$16,353,628CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,042,918CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$1,310,710CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$685,902CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,996,612CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,996,612 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components42,207CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components196CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days100.84CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days320.29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days215.34CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1306731, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 21, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$27,010,755CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$13,731,774CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$13,278,981CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$12,115,626CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$1,163,355CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$292,380CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,455,735CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,455,735 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components42,437CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components271CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days57.93CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days244.01CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days156.59CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1272087, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended December 31, 2018

Cost report for March 13, 2018 to December 31, 2018 — a reporting period of 293 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 14, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$19,898,176CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$12,974,517CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$6,923,659CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,702,069CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$778,410CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$282,849CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$495,561CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$495,561 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components23,490CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components163CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days52.9CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days198.22CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days144.11CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1271414, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
SOUTH PASADENA CARE CENTER, LLC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 07/20/2015
ABONZA, CARLOSADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/04/2024
SCHMUKLER, YEHUDAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/05/2025
SHTORCH, EYALADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/04/2025
ZEMEL, ELLIOTADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/05/2025
SCHMUKLER, YEHUDAMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/04/2024
ZEMEL, ELLIOTMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/04/2024
ABONZA, CARLOSOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/04/2024
SCHMUKLER, YEHUDAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/05/2025
SHTORCH, EYALOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/04/2025
ZEMEL, ELLIOTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/05/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of SOUTH PASADENA CARE CENTER, LLC (enrollment ID O20160218001466).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
ELLIOT ZEMELIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST507/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SOUTH PASADENA CARE CENTER, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1007/20/2015
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
YEHUDA SCHMUKLERIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST507/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CARLOS ARAGON ABONZAIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/4/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ELLIOT ZEMELIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/5/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EYAL SHTORCHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing9/4/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
YEHUDA SCHMUKLERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/5/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/5/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: Yes
Holding company: No
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/5/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/4/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/5/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ELLIOT ZEMELIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing12/4/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
YEHUDA SCHMUKLERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing12/4/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CARLOS ARAGON ABONZAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/4/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ELLIOT ZEMELIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/5/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EYAL SHTORCHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/4/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
YEHUDA SCHMUKLERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/5/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 24, 2025July 24, 20252915
2July 19, 2024July 19, 2024263
3July 23, 2021July 23, 2021195

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

75 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
July 9, 2026HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 27, 2026
June 18, 2026HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 9, 2026
June 18, 2026HealthF 0677Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 9, 2026
March 10, 2026HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 26, 2026
February 25, 2026HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 10, 2026
February 25, 2026HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 10, 2026
January 14, 2026HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 4, 2026
November 25, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 4, 2025
September 2, 2025HealthF 0583Resident Rights DeficienciesKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 26, 2025
September 2, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 26, 2025
August 27, 2025HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 16, 2025
August 4, 2025HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 25, 2025
August 4, 2025HealthF 0760Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 25, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 14, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0558Resident Rights DeficienciesReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0605Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesPrevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0693Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0694Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0698Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0732Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesPost nurse staffing information every day.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 11, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0759Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 11, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0814Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesDispose of garbage and refuse properly.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 11, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0849Administration DeficienciesArrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 11, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 18, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0921Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 11, 2025
April 23, 2025HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 15, 2025
April 23, 2025HealthF 0607Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 15, 2025
April 1, 2025HealthF 0693Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 24, 2025
February 5, 2025HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 25, 2025
July 19, 2024HealthF 0558Resident Rights DeficienciesReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0676Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0677Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0688Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0690Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0849Administration DeficienciesArrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0919Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
July 19, 2024HealthF 0921Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 9, 2024
September 1, 2023HealthF 0558Resident Rights DeficienciesReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 12, 2023
September 1, 2023HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 12, 2023
September 1, 2023HealthF 0919Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 12, 2023
September 1, 2023HealthF 0925Environmental DeficienciesMake sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 12, 2023
August 28, 2023HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 12, 2023
July 23, 2021HealthF 0583Resident Rights DeficienciesKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0676Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0691Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate colostomy, urostomy, or ileostomy care/services for a resident who requires such services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0757Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0867Administration DeficienciesSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0919Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021
July 23, 2021HealthF 0921Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 7, 2021

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Limited Liability company
Legal Business NameSOUTH PASADENA CARE CENTER, LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2018-03-13
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishLos Angeles
Telephone Number6263990358
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds156
Average Number of Residents per Day148.5
Overall Rating1
Health Inspection Rating1
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating2
Short-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on SOUTH PASADENA CARE CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On July 9, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0686, scope and severity E. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for SOUTH PASADENA CARE CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in California at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in California

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 555908.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.