Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 555912

KERN RIVER TRANSITIONAL CARE

BAKERSFIELD, California · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 140

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $77,720.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: December 7, 2023, Fine, $77,720. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, as submitted, processed by CMS on June 18, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$52,820,139CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$24,364,139CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$28,456,000CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$26,941,155CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$1,514,845CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$22,609CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,537,454CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,537,454 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components140CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components51,240CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days14,928CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days2,908CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days31,132CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components48,968CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges288CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges16CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges328CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components632CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days51.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days181.75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days77.48CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1432366, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 26, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$37,233,837CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$7,934,275CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$29,299,562CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$24,541,974CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$4,757,588CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$35,885CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$4,793,473CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $4,793,473 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components140CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components48,848CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components803CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days39.65CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days448.73CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days60.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1440259, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 16, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$34,351,511CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,101,438CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$33,250,073CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$23,756,327CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$9,493,746CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$93,213CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$9,586,959CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $9,586,959 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components140CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components48,692CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components924CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days42.76CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,418.88CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days52.7CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1397390, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 23, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$32,651,283CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$9,246,813CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$23,404,470CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$19,161,672CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$4,242,798CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$860,112CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$5,102,910CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $5,102,910 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components140CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components42,599CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components654CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days42.52CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days2,094.13CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days65.14CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1333932, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 2, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$23,335,956CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$4,751,712CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$18,584,244CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$17,487,054CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$1,097,190CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,053,022CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$2,150,212CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $2,150,212 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components140CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components34,103CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components506CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days40.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,687.13CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days67.4CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1343693, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for April 16, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 259 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 18, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$12,239,343CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,207,221CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$9,032,122CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$9,964,844CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$932,722CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$18,413CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$914,309CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$914,309 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components140CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components16,117CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components375CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days32.65CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days456.89CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days42.98CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1278559, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
PROVIDENCE GROUP NORTH LLC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 05/01/2018
FARRER, TODDCONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2018
APT, FREDERICKCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2024
HANCOCK, MARKCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2024
JERGENSEN, JOSHUACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2024
MITCHELL, JOHNCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2024
BLOOD, BRYCEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2021
BLOOD, BRYCEW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2021

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of BAKERSFIELDIDENCE OPCO LLC (enrollment ID O20171218003140).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
PROVIDENCE GROUP NORTH LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1005/1/2018
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: Yes
JASON H MURRAYIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST41.84/15/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK D HANCOCKIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST41.84/15/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PACS GROUP, INC.Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1006/30/2023
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: Yes
PACS HOLDINGS, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1006/30/2023
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: Yes
PROVIDENCE GROUP INCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1005/1/2018
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: Yes
TODD A FARRERIndividualCONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEENot stated in the filing11/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FREDERICK G APTIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN T MITCHELLIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOSHUA O JERGENSENIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK D HANCOCKIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRYCE BLOODIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRYCE BLOODIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEENot stated in the filing3/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1April 24, 2025April 24, 2025243
2May 16, 2024May 16, 2024287
3May 13, 2021May 13, 2021398

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

91 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
April 29, 2026HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 28, 2026
April 29, 2026HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 28, 2026
July 28, 2025HealthF 0552Resident Rights DeficienciesEnsure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 28, 2025
July 28, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 28, 2025
July 28, 2025HealthF 0690Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 28, 2025
July 28, 2025HealthF 0726Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 28, 2025
May 16, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 30, 2025
May 15, 2025HealthF 0552Resident Rights DeficienciesEnsure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 20, 2025
May 15, 2025HealthF 0849Administration DeficienciesArrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 20, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0552Resident Rights DeficienciesEnsure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0623Resident Rights DeficienciesProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0644Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0677Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0679Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide activities to meet all resident's needs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0687Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate foot care.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0690Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0698Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0726Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0790Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide routine and 24-hour emergency dental care for each resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0847Administration DeficienciesInform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0850Administration DeficienciesHire a qualified full-time social worker in a facility with more than 120 beds.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0867Administration DeficienciesSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0868Administration DeficienciesHave the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterlyENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
April 24, 2025HealthF 0947Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 12, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 25, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 25, 2025
December 31, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 7, 2025
December 9, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 9, 2024
December 5, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 6, 2024
September 5, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 20, 2024
August 22, 2024HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 17, 2024
August 22, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 17, 2024
August 22, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 17, 2024
August 22, 2024HealthF 0837Administration DeficienciesEstablish a governing body that is legally responsible for establishing and implementing policies for managing and operating the facility and appoints a properly licensed administrator responsible for managing the facility.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 17, 2024
August 2, 2024HealthF 0585Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 23, 2024
July 31, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 10, 2024
July 23, 2024HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 22, 2024
July 23, 2024HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 22, 2024
July 23, 2024HealthF 0698Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 22, 2024
July 16, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2024
July 9, 2024HealthF 0558Resident Rights DeficienciesReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 29, 2024
June 28, 2024HealthF 0742Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 23, 2024
June 25, 2024HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 23, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0554Resident Rights DeficienciesAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0636Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0644Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0645Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesPASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual DisabilitiesDYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0690Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2024
April 16, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 30, 2024
April 9, 2024HealthF 0625Resident Rights DeficienciesNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 25, 2024
March 17, 2024HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 3, 2024
February 26, 2024HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 22, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0558Resident Rights DeficienciesReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 26, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 26, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0725Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 26, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 26, 2024
January 10, 2024HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 5, 2024
January 5, 2024HealthF 0839Administration DeficienciesEmploy staff that are licensed, certified, or registered in accordance with state laws.FYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 19, 2024
December 7, 2023HealthF 0600Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.GYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 22, 2023
December 7, 2023HealthF 0607Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 22, 2023
December 7, 2023HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 22, 2023
December 7, 2023HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 22, 2023
December 7, 2023HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 22, 2023
May 13, 2021HealthF 0554Resident Rights DeficienciesAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0558Resident Rights DeficienciesReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0688Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0694Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0726Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0804Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021
May 13, 2021HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 11, 2021

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
December 7, 2023Fine$77,720130350

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Limited Liability company
Legal Business NameBAKERSFIELDIDENCE OPCO LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2019-04-16
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishKern
Telephone Number6613259900
Chain NamePACS GROUP
Chain ID690
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds140
Average Number of Residents per Day136.0
Overall Rating1
Health Inspection Rating1
QM Rating4
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Short-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on KERN RIVER TRANSITIONAL CARE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On September 26, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for KERN RIVER TRANSITIONAL CARE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in California at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in California

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 555912.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.